ACA 5 Passes Senate Appropriations Committee, Heads to Senate Floor

The Opportunity for All Coalition today celebrated the California State Senate Appropriations Committee’s approval of ACA 5, which sends the bill to the Senate floor for a full vote. If the vote is successful on the Senate floor, California voters will officially have the opportunity to reinstate affirmative action statewide.

Eva Paterson and Vincent Pan, co-chairs of the Opportunity For All Coalition, lauded the committee’s vote, saying, “We are thrilled that our bill is headed to the Senate floor for a full vote. Every Senator deserves to have their say on this critical measure — just as every Californian deserves to have their say on equal opportunity programs. As our state envisions a more equitable future where Black Lives Matter and California’s women and communities of color are not left vulnerable to any public health or economic crises, we all deserve to have a voice.”

Finally, they said, “We are confident the State Senate will keep the voters of California in mind when they vote on the bill. This is a historic moment for California and for our country, and we believe California voters can meet this moment, by reinstating affirmative action.”

ACA 5 has been endorsed by over 500 organizations and leaders, including California Senators Kamala Harris and Dianne Feinstein, California Governor Gavin Newsom, California Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis, U.S. Representative Karen Bass (CA-37), Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, San Francisco Mayor London Breed, San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo, Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia, San Francisco Board of Supervisors President Norman Yee, California State Board of Equalization Member Malia Cohen, California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, California State Controller Betty Yee, former California Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de Leon, Insurance Commissioner of California Ricardo Lara, and Stockton Mayor Michael Tubbs. It is also endorsed by SEIU California, ACLU of California, United Farm Workers (UFW), AFSCME Local 3299, San Diego Building & Construction Trades Council, Cesar Chavez Foundation, Dolores Huerta Foundation, California Black Chamber of Commerce, California Climate Change & Agriculture Network, California Federation of Teachers, California Labor Federation, California Teachers Association, California National Organization for Women, California/Hawaii State Conference NAACP, Chinese for Affirmative Action, Equal Justice Society, The Education Trust – West, and the University of California Student Association.

ACA 5 was authored by Assemblymembers Weber, Gipson and Santiago, and co-authored by Assemblymembers Burke, Cooper, Gonzalez, Holden, Jones-Sawyer, Kamlager, Kalra, McCarty, Stone, Wicks, and Senators Bradford, Mitchell, Hueso, and Skinner. The bill was supported by the leading civil rights organizations, labor groups and business leaders across California including Equal Justice Society, the California Black Chamber of Commerce, Chinese for Affirmative Action, ACLUs of California and scores of other community advocates. 

For more information about the Opportunity for All Coalition behind ACA 5, and for updates on how the coalition will take further action for equal opportunity, visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: